Day 11: May 5, 2016

Destination: Santo Domingo de la Calzada

Distance: 22km

Time: 5:45 hours – 9:00am to 2:45pm

Terrain: One decent climb and lots of rolling hills, hard of legs after yesterday

Weather: started out sunny, clouded over throughout the day, hot 25C again. Sunburn.

Total kms to date: 216 km, avg 19.6/day

Had a decent sleep in a comfy bed and got up at 7:30. Did our usual routine – pack most of our stuff, leave our packs and go find coffee, come back to finish packing and head out. We were on the road at 9am. Walked a km out and back to go to grocery store but it wasn’t open yet. Boo. We really walked 24 km today.

We tried to stop every hour today but I had a lot of aches and pains that were getting worse as the day went on. Ate bananas for lunch at a picnic site. Hot again. I would hate to do this in July – no shade. My left side gets burned every day.

Erik had to put up with me singing all 100 verses of 100 bottles of beer on the wall. He’s a good sport. 🙂

I chanted a mantra for the last hour to get my mind off the pain.

I am brave and I am strong. I can do this all day long. Nothing hurts. I’m ok. I can do this every day. 

My shins didn’t really believe me.

Got to Santo Domingo around 3. Found out hotel which is a converted nunnery. Checked in. Showered. Walked to he cathedral to see the famous chickens but it was closed. Found a restaurant and sat next to Chris and Sharon. Chatted with them a bit while we ate. Once again, the menu al dia finished just as we arrived. We were able to order a la carte though so I had spaghetti and Erik had chorizo and eggs and fries. I got ice from the bar and iced my shin but it is still killing me.

Limped to the grocery store and bought some fruit and nuts for tomorrow. Then headed back to the hotel to rest and do my blog.

It’s been a hard day.  I’m worried about my shin for tomorrow.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

One thought on “Day 11: May 5, 2016

Leave a Reply

