Day 18: May 12, 2016

Destination: Fromista

Distance: 25 km

Time: 7:15 hours, 9:00 am to 4:15 pm

Terrain: one big steep climb to 1100m and one small climb. Only a little mud.

Weather: overcast, rain showers in the afternoon. One was fairly heavy.

Total distance to date: 345 km

I had a really restless night because I found out my MasterCard had been declined at home and I couldn’t log in to my account online. I was worrying all night because there is no simple way to contact MC from Europe unless I have a phone. When I got up, I messaged Angie and she called MC and I got on Skype with her and she put me on speakerphone so I could talk with them. It turned out my card had been compromised (for the 3rd time) and they have cancelled it and sent me a new one. Not very convenient when I’m out of yet country. However, he also confirmed that Erik’s card is fine and that’s the one we use so all is well.

We went down for breakfast and they served ham and cheese and yogurt as well as the usual pastries. However when we checked out, we found out it wasn’t included in our room price so we had to pay an extra 14 euros. Ah well. It was pretty good.

Our day started with a 1 1/2 km 12% climb, then a km across he flat top, and an 1km 18% climb down. My legs do not like hills. My Lowe left calf was barking at me all afternoon and I got pretty cranky because there was no place to stop for ice.

We has a long day with only two towns to pass through. The first was about 10km, close to 3 hours including stops. We stopped in and had a bowl of lentil soup and a cold drink. After lunch, it rained several times but the trail wasn’t too muddy so it was ok. We are tired of the wind though. My pants got soaked but the rest of me was warm and they dried pretty quickly in the wind once the rain stopped.

The ended with a flat path along a big canal. The town we are staying in has a canal system with locks in town. I think it’s all part of the agricultural system for irrigation.

We arrived at our Albergue just after 4pm. It is in a old train station and has a lot of “character.” Our room with a shower and bathroom is only 30 euros.  A 3 course dinner with wine is another 20. Pretty good deal for 50 euros. The woman who checked us in was hilarious and she taught me some Spanish and have me lots of advice about icing my legs.

So tomorrow we only have a 20km day and we couldn’t find a room on a Friday night so we have to stay a Hotel Real Monasterio San Zoilo. I think I will survive but I may not want to leave…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Day 18: May 12, 2016

  1. Mel Hunt

    Hi Eric. Following you from Kelowna. I want to do the Camino in April next year so following you and your wife’s adventures with much interest. I hope things go really well for you! (I’m the Mel who taught grade 5 at Casorso when you were the counsellor. I remember doing reports together and you were listening to Bach’s Goldberg Variations played by Gould. You got the CD for me which I still have.)
    buena suerte!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Erik Danielsen

      Hi Mel. Great to hear that you are following our trip. It is quite the experience. We are living in the moment 24 hours a day!

      Like

Leave a Reply

