Day 30: May 24, 2016

Destination: Cacabelos

Distance: 14km

Time: 3:45 hours; 11:15am to 3:00 pm

Terrain: flat, easy road and gravel trail

Weather: warm, muggy, overcast with showers

Total distance to date: 555 km (+12k taxi, 14k bus, 15k bus = 596k)

We had a short day so I didn’t set the alarm. Woke up around 7:30 feeling stuffed up but otherwise ok. Had a lazy morning relaxing at our hotel. Erik went down to the cafe and brought me back a coffee. Eventually we packed up and hit the road around 11:15.

We saw Alain and walked with him for a few minutes to catch up as we left the city.

It was an easy walk through mostly vineyards and orchards, and we walked fairly steadily until we reached Camponaraya around 2:30. We stopped for a drink and ran into Ana Isobel and her husband, Carlos – it was so good to see her!!

We all walked together for an hour until we got to Cacabelos and then they continued on. We took a few pictures before we left them to find our hotel.

We have a nice room that comes with a really good buffet breakfast, or so we’ve heard. Lots more choices than the usual fare.

I had a shower and washed my clothes while Erik went to a grocery store and bought some warm beer. Then we both went down to the hotel bar for a cold beer.  The hotel manager told us which restaurant was good for dinner and even told us what kind of wine to ask for. It’s only 4€ and better than the 10€ stuff he said. He also told us to only order 1/2 rations because they give you so much food. We will follow his advice and see what happens.

It’s now 3:30pm and I’m going to finish this blog post and then close my eyes for a few minutes. I feel like my cold really wants me to rest. Luckily we have three short days in a row so hopefully I will be over the worst of it by then.

My legs felt stiff this morning after the long downhill yesterday but I’m not injured and I was happy with how good my body feels. Yay!

Here are a few pics from the day.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Leave a Reply

